First post and birthday meal!

It seems appropriate that my first blog post should coincide with my 20th birthday celebrations! Happy reading!

As a family we headed to the Hornbrook, a really popular foodie pub in Horsham, to wave goodbye to my teenage years. And when I say really popular, I mean it. If you plan to eat on a Saturday night you need to book to avoid disappointment. We’ve been going since I was little as it has something to please everyone. It’s proper English pub food done well.

We began with the Classic Sharing Board and we ate the lot. Pâté, ham, prawns, cheeses, chutney, breads and veggie nibbles were devoured.

Hornbrook 5In typical Knight family fashion, my sister and I then went for steaks. I had the sirloin steak with peppercorn sauce whilst Laura went for Rib eye. We both asked for medium rare and they were perfect! Mine even had the peas served in an adorable diddy colander. My Dad went for Fish and Chips and it was possibly the biggest piece of fish I have ever seen, served with bread and butter in true oldie style. My Mum had a special – the tuna steak with pesto marinade, roasted vegetables and new potatoes. I tried a mouthful of everyone’s dinner and would have been very content with any (all) of them.

Hornbrook 3Hornbrook 4

Next was pudding, of course. We decided to go for the six mini puddings to share between the four of us and they looked great, perhaps a little bit better than they tasted. One seemed to consist just of natural yoghurt, banana and nuts. Bit weird. The brownie and lemon meringue ones were yummy though. Think I’ll probably stick with the sticky-toffee-pudding next time.

Hornbrook 1Hornbrook 2

Our waitress was super smiley and chatty, great service. And the interior is cool too, a modern twist on a traditional pub. Highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

